The Haunting by Shirley Jackson

The Haunting of Hill House

By Shirley Jackson

Dr. Montague is an occult scholar who invites three people to be his guest at Hill House in hopes that he may find evidence of the house’s notorious hauntings. At First things are just merely spooky and the residents merely laugh it off, until the manifestations take a more sinister turn.

This novel is absolutely spine tingling it has all you need for a heart fluttering good time, a maze of a house, children laughing in the night, even a statue that seems to watch you every move. I have seen the movie, it’s actually one of my favorites, but even the movie is dull in comparison. Though I am glad they left Mrs. Montague out of the movie, she only managed to annoy me more than anything. I definitely recommend this book if you are looking for something that will give you the heebie jeebies in a short time frame, it is only about 200 pages long but Shirley Jackson manages to definitely leave her mark.

As always if you have any requests or recommendations email me at:

Reflections.of.a.BookWorm@gmail.com

Be sure to visit my blogs at:

https://reflectionsofabookworm.wordpress.com/

http://bookwormrflects8.blogspot.com/

You can even follow me on Twitter

                                               @BookWormRflect

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Fiction, Horror, Thriller

One response to “The Haunting by Shirley Jackson

  1. Em

    I’ve only see the movie. Twice, old and new. Both were pretty scary, but I think the book will be better. Thanks for letting me know.

    I’ve moved my blog to wordpress. Would you mind following me again @ http://emaginette.wordpress.com/

    Thanks. Read you soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

